top of page
  • Writer's pictureMackensie Sauerbrei

Bullet Journal: 101 Things in 1,001 Days

It's like a bucket list- but it is full of big things & small things, new experience & old favorites, things that can happen spontaneously & things that are more planned out. If you have never heard about this list, I highly recommend you keep reading to learn more!


I have a bullet journal and create a variety of different pages. I even had a separate bullet journal for all things related to books & reading. One of my favorite things to put in my bullet journal is my bucket lists and this list falls into the category.


To start a 101 things list, all you need is somewhere to write/type it, 101 ideas of things you want to do within the next 3ish years (1,001 days). You can find so so many ideas of what to put on your list on Pinterest, or you can gain inspiration from mine! They key is choose some large, new experiences like travel to a new state and many smaller, easy to accomplish tasks like bake someone a birthday cake.


I like to add even more variety by choosing tasks that fall into different categories like: self-care, cooking & foods, reading, traveling, with my husband, seasonal, purchases to make, etc.


My list is about to end, on May 2nd, 2022 and I have quite a few tasks left to complete. If there are some that do not get completed, it is okay because one of my tasks is to save away $10 for every unchecked item. This will either force me to accomplish that task or pay up. I plan to put the money into our honeymoon travel fund, so either way it is a win-win for me.


Here are the things on my 101 Things in 1,001 Days List!

Bold= completed

  • Finish another podcast

  • Go to the dentist

  • Make a workout playlist

  • Read a book with my husband

  • Be in a wedding

Ironically, the wedding that I was in was mine!
  • Wash my car

  • Get my nails done

  • Donate clothes

  • Use an entire chapstick

  • Read a teaching-related book

  • Wear my cross necklace more often

  • Go 1 week without television

  • Get a dog

When I married Spencer, I gained a dog because he had Nelly. We also got a second dog this past summer- Leo!
  • Have a coffee date

  • Attend 2 concerts

Tim McGraw concert with my besties!
  • Eat a s'more

  • Visit a museum

  • Have a penpal

  • Run a full marathon

  • Learn how to knit

  • Take a road trip

  • Fly first class

  • See a movie alone

  • Donate blood

  • NYC at Christmastime

  • Re-read Harry Potter (so close to being done!)

  • Finish my devotional

  • Pull an all-nighter

  • Go skiing

  • Look at engagement rings

  • Buy 3 new full outfits

  • Try 10 new wines

  • Read for 30 minutes/ 30 days in a row

  • Go skinny dipping

  • Sister date

  • Go to a teaching conference

  • Buy new running shoes

  • Go to a Hawkeyes game

  • Organize my laptop desktop & files

  • Have a picnic

  • Pay it forward

  • Carve initials into a tree

  • Go ice skating

  • Pick apples at the orchard

One of my favorite fall activities- apple picking
  • 1 month without going out to eat

  • Make someone a birthday cake

  • Drive a stick shift

  • Read a Jane Austen book

  • Breakfast in bed

  • Go mini-golfing

  • Make a snowman

  • Shotgun a beer

  • Turn 25

  • Win something

  • Plant an herb garden

  • Hot air balloon

  • Leave a letter in a book to be found in the future

  • Read my journal from Spain

  • Get engaged

My now husband proposed to me while hiking in Grand Teton National Park
  • Try a new food

  • Cook every recipe in my Tasty cookbook

  • Read the Game of Thrones series

  • Read 3 books in Spanish

  • Rewatch One Tree Hill & Gilmore Girls (in progress)

  • Give someone a Just Because gift

  • Watch 10 new movies

  • See the sun rise and set in one day

  • Leave a cute note in a public place

  • Finish my old 101 Things List

  • Make homemade bread

  • Go to 5 new coffee shops

  • Go on a bike ride

Bike tour in Barcelona, Spain
  • Cover my entire water bottle in stickers

  • Go to an NFL game

  • Join a Bible study

  • Duolingo in a new language

  • Attend a trivia night

  • Send out Christmas cards

  • Make a blanket fort

  • Sell resources on Teachers Pay Teachers

  • Make pasta from scratch

  • Finish a puzzle

  • Join a book club

  • See a play

  • 10 random acts of kindness

  • Go driving to look at fall leaves

  • Hold a baby

  • Pay off 1 loan

  • No shopping for 1 month

  • Read 50 books

  • Make 1 new recipe each month / 1 year

  • Pet a llama

  • Go camping

  • Check 3 National Parks off of my list

  • Go hiking

  • Save away $10 for each unchecked item on the list

  • Listen to 20 audiobooks

  • Visit a new U.S. city

Scottsdale, Arizona bachelorette party
  • Do mission work

  • Travel to a new country

  • Buy new sheets


Here is how it looked when I wrote it in my bullet journal originally. I have since re-written it for my new 2022-2023 journal.


Want to make your own? I would love to see the results. Send them to my Instagram or my gmail!



What should I add to my next list?


-Mackensie



24 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page