top of page
  • Writer's pictureMackensie Sauerbrei

My Epic Hikes Bucket List

I love to hike. The physical challenge that it brings, the connection to nature, & the reward of a view at the end are my favorite parts! It always seems to remind me of how incredible our God and the beautiful earth He created are. Here are the hikes that I want to do before I 'kick the bucket'!


Green= completed!

  • Devil's Bridge- Sedona, Arizona

  • Delicate Arch- Arches NP, Utah

  • Half Dome- Yosemite NP, California

I watched the Hulu documentary, Free Solo, and instantly became obsessed with Yosemite NP and Half Dome. I was sooo close to being able to do this one. Unfortunately I did not win the lottery required to get permits. That just means I will have to go back!


  • Inca Trail- Machu Picchu, Peru

Another goal of mine is to do a multiple day hike, where you carry all your gear and camp. I would absolutely love to do the 3-day hike on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu....*sigh* someday.

  • Sierra Point- Yosemite NP, California

After researching a bit more before going to Yosemite, I found out that this trail is actually closed and can be considered a "lost trail". Bummer... Apparently it was John Muir's favorite!

  • Moraine Lake- Denali NP, Alaska

  • Grinnell Glacier- Glacier NP, Montana

Glacier NP is the next 'big' park on my list! I say 'big' because it would require a big trip with a lot of planning!

  • Mammoth Hot Springs- Yellowstone NP, Wyoming

This one is not very physically demanding at all, and it is on a boardwalk! It's popular for its weird landscape of hot springs and sulfuric pools, not because it's a truly challenging hike with a great view. Still really cool though!


  • Cinque Terre- Italy

  • Pedra de Telegrafo- Rio de Janiero, Brazil

  • Path of the God's- Italy

  • Dream Lake- Rocky Mountain NP, Colorado

Rocky Mountain NP is on my list for the next realistic National Park to check off my list. Since there are 4 NPs in Colorado & I can get to Colorado by car, it's super practical to check those off the list in one easy trip! Possibly Summer of 2022? Anyone want to join me?

  • San Juan de Guadeltxe- Spain

  • Rim to Rim- Grand Canyon NP, Arizona

I visited GCNP two summers ago, back when I was starting to get into hiking. We did a bunch of canyon hiking in the park (Bright Angel Trail & North Kaibab Trail) and afterward realized that we should have just done Rim to Rim because it would have been the same distance. Again, looks like I will have to go back someday!

  • The South Rim- Big Bend NP, Texas

  • Sulphur Creek- Capital Reef NP, Utah

  • Savage River Alpine Loop- Denali NP, Alaska

  • Trail of the Cedars- Glacier NP, Montana

  • Cascade Canyon Trail- Grand Teton NP, Wyoming

I got proposed to on this hike! It will forever hold a special place in my heart because of that, but it is a very cool hike! You walk in between the mountains (hence, the name canyon) instead of summiting them. It also has a great view of Lake Jenny and high probability of seeing wildlife like bear and moose. We didn't see anything, unfortunately.

  • Bristlecones/Alpine Lake- Great Basin NP, Nevada

  • Charlies Bunion Trail- Great Smoky NP, Tennessee

This trail is great! It's practically on the border of Tennessee & North Carolina so you're walking in both states and along the Appalachian Trail, which goes from Maine to Georgia. The end of the trail leads you to a huge drop off where the view of the Smokies comes into sight. It is marvelous.

  • Skyline Trail- Mt. Rainier NP, Washington

  • Cloud's Rest- Yosemite NP, California

This hike is my new favorite for a few reasons. 1. It is the longest day hike that I've done. 2. It challenged my slight fear of heights (enough that it was fun, not too scary). 3. It has the best view of Half Dome, where you can see the hikers going up the cables.

  • Sky Pond- Rocky Mountain NP, Colorado

  • Shi Shi Beach- Olympic NP, Washington

  • Hidden Lake- North Cascades NP, Washington


Well, that's my hiking bucket list! Have you completed any of these trails? What else should I add to my list? Anyone want to help me accomplish these? Let me know in the message box below!


"Checkin' it off the bucket list!"

-Mackensie


17 views

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page